Compare · checked 2 Nov 2026
AI assistants compared
The general AI chat assistants: what each free tier includes, what paid plans cost, what they can do, and whether your chats train their models.
Facts come from each company's own pages, with the date we checked. We don't rank them, and we don't claim to have tested them. Prices are as each company's page showed them on the day we checked, mostly in Australian dollars; they differ by country and tax. Whether an assistant helps with your work is a question for the evidence: see what works.
Side by side
| AnthropicClaude | DeepSeekDeepSeek | GoogleGemini | MetaMeta AI | MicrosoftMicrosoft Copilot | Mistral AIMistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat) | OpenAIChatGPT | SpaceXSI (xAI)Grok | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Status | Available; Free, Pro, Max and Ultra individual plans plus Team, Enterprise and Education plans are on sale. source ↗ | Available; the download page calls the DeepSeek app 'the official AI assistant from DeepSeek'. source ↗ | Available; free tier plus Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra plans, and Gemini Enterprise for business. source ↗ | Available, but the Meta AI app and website 'are not yet available everywhere'. source ↗ | Available; an updated Copilot app for web, desktop and mobile launched on 18 August 2026. source ↗ | Available; Le Chat became Vibe on 12 August 2026, with the same URL (chat.mistral.ai) and login. source ↗ | Available; Free, Go, Plus and Pro individual plans plus Business, Enterprise and Edu plans. source ↗ | Available on web, iOS and Android; free to try, with paid upgrades. source ↗ |
| Free tier | $0. Limited usage every 5 hours and weekly; web search, file creation with code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, voice mode, up to 5 projects. source ↗ | The download page says you can 'Chat with leading AI models for free'. No usage limits stated. source ↗ | A$0 with a Google Account: Flash-Lite model, image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas, Gems, Notebook. 'Rate limits may apply.' source ↗ | Meta says 'Meta AI is free for everyone'; Meta One plans add more access to some AI features, such as image and video generation. source ↗ | Free tier with a signed-in Microsoft account; some capabilities have usage limits, with more on paid plans. source ↗ | Limited messages and web searches, limited coding sessions, basic image generation and editing, 100+ connectors, on web and mobile. source ↗ | Unlimited text chats with GPT-6 (abuse guardrails); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory, Codex and desktop ChatGPT Work. source ↗ | 'Free to try on the web and in the apps'; upgrading gives higher limits and multi-agent reasoning. Free limits not stated. source ↗ |
| Paid plans | Shown in AUD incl. 10% GST: Pro $28/month annually ($34 monthly); Max $170.01/month (5x Pro); Ultra $340/month (10x Pro weekly, no 5-hour limit). source ↗ | Not stated | AUD/month: AI Plus $7.99 (2x free usage); AI Pro $32.99 (4x); AI Ultra $149.99 (5x Pro) or $329.99 (20x Pro). source ↗ | Meta One Core $7.99/month (more AI usage); Premium $19.99/month. Currency not stated on the page; pricing varies by region. source ↗ | Via Microsoft 365, AUD/month: Personal $16; Family $18; Premium $33; Pro $165 (monthly only). On Family and above, AI is for the owner only. source ↗ | Pro US$14.99/month excl. taxes (verified students US$5.99); Team US$24.99/user/month; Enterprise on request. source ↗ | AUD/month: Go A$13 (may include ads); Plus A$30; Pro from A$155, with three usage tiers. source ↗ | AUD/month, excluding taxes: Plus A$11.99; Premium A$45.99 (4x Plus); Super A$149.99 (15x); Ultra A$309.99 (50x). Plans include X benefits. source ↗ |
| Models | Free: Sonnet and Haiku. Pro and above add Opus; Fable via credits on Pro, up to half weekly limit on Max/Ultra. Users choose the model. source ↗ | Official web and app models updated to DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 on 17 October 2026. source ↗ | No plan: Auto or Flash-Lite. Plus: Flash-Lite, Flash, Pro. Pro and Ultra add Argon. Paid users can switch models manually. source ↗ | Choose a mode: Instant for quick answers, Thinking for complex questions, or Shopping. Underlying models not named. source ↗ | Microsoft says you can choose between leading AI models for different kinds of work; models not named. source ↗ | Same Mistral models across modes; a fast/think toggle sets reasoning depth. Specific chat models not named. source ↗ | Free gets GPT-6; Plus adds advanced reasoning; Pro adds GPT-6 Astra. Plan table also lists GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-5.6 models. source ↗ | Premium adds 'latest Grok models'; Ultra adds 'most powerful Chat models'. Specific model names not given on the plans page. source ↗ |
| Where it runs | Web, iOS, Android and desktop; paid plans add Claude in Chrome and Claude for Microsoft 365 and Outlook. source ↗ | Web, iOS and Android apps; separate DeepSeek Harness desktop agent for Windows 10 or later and macOS. source ↗ | Web (some features without signing in), mobile app on some phones, plus Gemini apps for Mac and Windows. source ↗ | Meta AI app (mobile and desktop) and website. source ↗ | Web, desktop apps for Windows and Mac, and mobile. source ↗ | Web, iOS and Android apps; Vibe Code in the terminal, VS Code and remote cloud sessions. source ↗ | Web, iOS, Android, desktop app and Chrome extension. source ↗ | Web (grok.com), iOS, Android and Grok on X. source ↗ |
| What it can do | Web search, files and code execution, memory, connectors, skills, voice, Artifacts; paid plans add Research, hand-off and scheduled tasks, Claude Code. source ↗ | Chat with DeepThink and Search options; Harness desktop agent for background tasks and local files. source ↗ | Image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live voice, Canvas, Gems, Notebook; paid plans add video generation; Ultra gets Tasks in select countries. source ↗ | Answers questions, explains photos, generates images or animations, edits writing, voice chat, shopping mode. source ↗ | Chat, Researcher, Analyst, Cowork multi-step tasks, image creation, screen or camera vision, AI audio (English), and Copilot inside Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook. source ↗ | Web search, document upload, voice mode, image generation, task scheduling, spreadsheets, slides, connectors, canvas, projects and coding agent. source ↗ | Search, file uploads, image generation, voice, deep research, memory, plugins; paid plans add projects, scheduled tasks, custom GPTs, wider ChatGPT Work agent access. source ↗ | Web and X search, reasoning, multi-agent mode, image and video generation, voice, file and PDF analysis, vision, memory, canvas, custom instructions. source ↗ |
| For work | Team (2-150): $34/seat/month annually, Premium seat $170; SSO, central billing, connector controls. Enterprise: US$20/seat plus API-rate usage, SCIM, audit logs. source ↗ | Not stated | Gemini Enterprise Business US$21/seat/month (up to 300 seats); Standard/Plus US$30/seat. Business prompts and outputs not used to train Google models. source ↗ | Not stated | Work or school (Entra) sign-ins fall under separate enterprise data protection; the business product is Microsoft 365 Copilot (see notes). source ↗ | Team: higher limits, 30GB storage/user, domain verification, data export. Enterprise: SAML SSO, audit logs, admin API, private deployments, custom models. source ↗ | Business (2-200 users): A$28/seat/month annually (A$35 monthly); SAML SSO, MFA, central billing, analytics, spend controls. Enterprise via sales. source ↗ | Business $30/user/month: no training, seat management, consolidated billing, connectors, audit controls. Enterprise adds custom SSO, SCIM, customer-managed encryption keys. source ↗ |
| Your chats and training | Pricing lists model training as 'Opt-out' on Free, Pro, Max and Ultra; Team and Enterprise: no model training on your content by default. source ↗ | Inputs and outputs may be used to improve the services and underlying technology; opt out by turning off 'Improve the model for everyone'. source ↗ | With Keep activity on, chats are used to improve Google AI, with human review; you can turn it off. Work/school accounts follow different terms. source ↗ | Meta uses your AI interactions to improve AI at Meta and may share messages with selected partners when it cannot answer. No opt-out stated. source ↗ | In the Copilot app, prompts, responses and file contents are not used to train foundation models; optional feedback may improve Copilot. source ↗ | Your data trains Mistral models unless you opt out; feedback (thumbs up/down) may be used regardless. source ↗ | Free, Plus and Pro content may train models; opt out in Data controls. Business, Enterprise and Edu not used for training by default. source ↗ | Logged-in users choose whether content trains models; logged-out use grants full rights for training. Default setting not stated. source ↗ |
| Minimum age | At least 18, or the minimum age to consent in your country. source ↗ | Primarily intended for adults; under 18 (or local minimum age) only with a legal guardian's consent. source ↗ | Work accounts 18+; parents can turn off access for under-13s via Family Link. Google AI paid plans are 18+. source ↗ | Not for under-13s, or a higher age where your country requires it. source ↗ | At least 13; higher in some countries or regions. source ↗ | At least 13, with parental or guardian permission where required for minors. source ↗ | At least 13, or the minimum age to consent in your country. source ↗ | At least 13, or your country's minimum; ages 13 to 17 need parental permission. source ↗ |
| Where it's available | Available only in listed supported countries and regions; use from unsupported regions, or by entities based there, is not allowed. source ↗ | Not stated | Web app in over 230 countries and territories and 70+ languages; mainland China Workspace only; mobile app availability may differ. source ↗ | App and website not yet available everywhere; some features may not be available in your area. source ↗ | Over 170 markets; not available or supported in China (excluding Hong Kong SAR) and embargoed markets. source ↗ | Not stated | Supported only in listed countries and territories; access from elsewhere may get your account blocked or suspended. source ↗ | Not stated |
Scroll sideways on small screens. Every fact links to the company page that states it.
Each one in detail
Claude
General-purpose AI assistant from Anthropic, with free and paid individual plans, Team and Enterprise plans, and apps on web, desktop and mobile.
- Status
- Available; Free, Pro, Max and Ultra individual plans plus Team, Enterprise and Education plans are on sale. source ↗
- Free tier
- $0. Limited usage every 5 hours and weekly; web search, file creation with code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, voice mode, up to 5 projects. source ↗
- Paid plans
- Shown in AUD incl. 10% GST: Pro $28/month annually ($34 monthly); Max $170.01/month (5x Pro); Ultra $340/month (10x Pro weekly, no 5-hour limit). source ↗
- Models
- Free: Sonnet and Haiku. Pro and above add Opus; Fable via credits on Pro, up to half weekly limit on Max/Ultra. Users choose the model. source ↗
- Where it runs
- Web, iOS, Android and desktop; paid plans add Claude in Chrome and Claude for Microsoft 365 and Outlook. source ↗
- What it can do
- Web search, files and code execution, memory, connectors, skills, voice, Artifacts; paid plans add Research, hand-off and scheduled tasks, Claude Code. source ↗
- For work
- Team (2-150): $34/seat/month annually, Premium seat $170; SSO, central billing, connector controls. Enterprise: US$20/seat plus API-rate usage, SCIM, audit logs. source ↗
- Your chats and training
- Pricing lists model training as 'Opt-out' on Free, Pro, Max and Ultra; Team and Enterprise: no model training on your content by default. source ↗
- Minimum age
- At least 18, or the minimum age to consent in your country. source ↗
- Where it's available
- Available only in listed supported countries and regions; use from unsupported regions, or by entities based there, is not allowed. source ↗
DeepSeek
Free AI chat assistant from Chinese developer DeepSeek, on web, iOS and Android, running the company's own V4.1 Flash model.
- Status
- Available; the download page calls the DeepSeek app 'the official AI assistant from DeepSeek'. source ↗
- Free tier
- The download page says you can 'Chat with leading AI models for free'. No usage limits stated. source ↗
- Paid plans
- Not stated
- Models
- Official web and app models updated to DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 on 17 October 2026. source ↗
- Where it runs
- Web, iOS and Android apps; separate DeepSeek Harness desktop agent for Windows 10 or later and macOS. source ↗
- What it can do
- Chat with DeepThink and Search options; Harness desktop agent for background tasks and local files. source ↗
- For work
- Not stated
- Your chats and training
- Inputs and outputs may be used to improve the services and underlying technology; opt out by turning off 'Improve the model for everyone'. source ↗
- Minimum age
- Primarily intended for adults; under 18 (or local minimum age) only with a legal guardian's consent. source ↗
- Where it's available
- Not stated
Gemini
Google's AI assistant, free with a Google Account, with paid Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra plans bundling more usage, models and storage.
- Status
- Available; free tier plus Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra plans, and Gemini Enterprise for business. source ↗
- Free tier
- A$0 with a Google Account: Flash-Lite model, image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas, Gems, Notebook. 'Rate limits may apply.' source ↗
- Paid plans
- AUD/month: AI Plus $7.99 (2x free usage); AI Pro $32.99 (4x); AI Ultra $149.99 (5x Pro) or $329.99 (20x Pro). source ↗
- Models
- No plan: Auto or Flash-Lite. Plus: Flash-Lite, Flash, Pro. Pro and Ultra add Argon. Paid users can switch models manually. source ↗
- Where it runs
- Web (some features without signing in), mobile app on some phones, plus Gemini apps for Mac and Windows. source ↗
- What it can do
- Image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live voice, Canvas, Gems, Notebook; paid plans add video generation; Ultra gets Tasks in select countries. source ↗
- For work
- Gemini Enterprise Business US$21/seat/month (up to 300 seats); Standard/Plus US$30/seat. Business prompts and outputs not used to train Google models. source ↗
- Your chats and training
- With Keep activity on, chats are used to improve Google AI, with human review; you can turn it off. Work/school accounts follow different terms. source ↗
- Minimum age
- Work accounts 18+; parents can turn off access for under-13s via Family Link. Google AI paid plans are 18+. source ↗
- Where it's available
- Web app in over 230 countries and territories and 70+ languages; mainland China Workspace only; mobile app availability may differ. source ↗
Meta AI
Meta's free AI assistant, offered through its own app and website, with extra AI image and video usage sold in Meta One subscription bundles.
- Status
- Available, but the Meta AI app and website 'are not yet available everywhere'. source ↗
- Free tier
- Meta says 'Meta AI is free for everyone'; Meta One plans add more access to some AI features, such as image and video generation. source ↗
- Paid plans
- Meta One Core $7.99/month (more AI usage); Premium $19.99/month. Currency not stated on the page; pricing varies by region. source ↗
- Models
- Choose a mode: Instant for quick answers, Thinking for complex questions, or Shopping. Underlying models not named. source ↗
- Where it runs
- Meta AI app (mobile and desktop) and website. source ↗
- What it can do
- Answers questions, explains photos, generates images or animations, edits writing, voice chat, shopping mode. source ↗
- For work
- Not stated
- Your chats and training
- Meta uses your AI interactions to improve AI at Meta and may share messages with selected partners when it cannot answer. No opt-out stated. source ↗
- Minimum age
- Not for under-13s, or a higher age where your country requires it. source ↗
- Where it's available
- App and website not yet available everywhere; some features may not be available in your area. source ↗
Microsoft Copilot
Microsoft's AI assistant app for personal Microsoft accounts, free with usage limits, with more usage and agent features through Microsoft 365 subscriptions.
- Status
- Available; an updated Copilot app for web, desktop and mobile launched on 18 August 2026. source ↗
- Free tier
- Free tier with a signed-in Microsoft account; some capabilities have usage limits, with more on paid plans. source ↗
- Paid plans
- Via Microsoft 365, AUD/month: Personal $16; Family $18; Premium $33; Pro $165 (monthly only). On Family and above, AI is for the owner only. source ↗
- Models
- Microsoft says you can choose between leading AI models for different kinds of work; models not named. source ↗
- Where it runs
- Web, desktop apps for Windows and Mac, and mobile. source ↗
- What it can do
- Chat, Researcher, Analyst, Cowork multi-step tasks, image creation, screen or camera vision, AI audio (English), and Copilot inside Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook. source ↗
- For work
- Work or school (Entra) sign-ins fall under separate enterprise data protection; the business product is Microsoft 365 Copilot (see notes). source ↗
- Your chats and training
- In the Copilot app, prompts, responses and file contents are not used to train foundation models; optional feedback may improve Copilot. source ↗
- Minimum age
- At least 13; higher in some countries or regions. source ↗
- Where it's available
- Over 170 markets; not available or supported in China (excluding Hong Kong SAR) and embargoed markets. source ↗
Mistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat)
Mistral AI's assistant, renamed from Le Chat to Vibe in August 2026, combining chat, multi-step work tasks and a coding agent.
- Status
- Available; Le Chat became Vibe on 12 August 2026, with the same URL (chat.mistral.ai) and login. source ↗
- Free tier
- Limited messages and web searches, limited coding sessions, basic image generation and editing, 100+ connectors, on web and mobile. source ↗
- Paid plans
- Pro US$14.99/month excl. taxes (verified students US$5.99); Team US$24.99/user/month; Enterprise on request. source ↗
- Models
- Same Mistral models across modes; a fast/think toggle sets reasoning depth. Specific chat models not named. source ↗
- Where it runs
- Web, iOS and Android apps; Vibe Code in the terminal, VS Code and remote cloud sessions. source ↗
- What it can do
- Web search, document upload, voice mode, image generation, task scheduling, spreadsheets, slides, connectors, canvas, projects and coding agent. source ↗
- For work
- Team: higher limits, 30GB storage/user, domain verification, data export. Enterprise: SAML SSO, audit logs, admin API, private deployments, custom models. source ↗
- Your chats and training
- Your data trains Mistral models unless you opt out; feedback (thumbs up/down) may be used regardless. source ↗
- Minimum age
- At least 13, with parental or guardian permission where required for minors. source ↗
- Where it's available
- Not stated
ChatGPT
OpenAI's AI assistant, with a free tier, Go, Plus and Pro individual plans, and Business and Enterprise plans for organisations.
- Status
- Available; Free, Go, Plus and Pro individual plans plus Business, Enterprise and Edu plans. source ↗
- Free tier
- Unlimited text chats with GPT-6 (abuse guardrails); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory, Codex and desktop ChatGPT Work. source ↗
- Paid plans
- AUD/month: Go A$13 (may include ads); Plus A$30; Pro from A$155, with three usage tiers. source ↗
- Models
- Free gets GPT-6; Plus adds advanced reasoning; Pro adds GPT-6 Astra. Plan table also lists GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-5.6 models. source ↗
- Where it runs
- Web, iOS, Android, desktop app and Chrome extension. source ↗
- What it can do
- Search, file uploads, image generation, voice, deep research, memory, plugins; paid plans add projects, scheduled tasks, custom GPTs, wider ChatGPT Work agent access. source ↗
- For work
- Business (2-200 users): A$28/seat/month annually (A$35 monthly); SAML SSO, MFA, central billing, analytics, spend controls. Enterprise via sales. source ↗
- Your chats and training
- Free, Plus and Pro content may train models; opt out in Data controls. Business, Enterprise and Edu not used for training by default. source ↗
- Minimum age
- At least 13, or the minimum age to consent in your country. source ↗
- Where it's available
- Supported only in listed countries and territories; access from elsewhere may get your account blocked or suspended. source ↗
Grok
AI assistant from the company behind x.ai, with live web and X search, image and video generation, and plans that bundle X benefits.
- Status
- Available on web, iOS and Android; free to try, with paid upgrades. source ↗
- Free tier
- 'Free to try on the web and in the apps'; upgrading gives higher limits and multi-agent reasoning. Free limits not stated. source ↗
- Paid plans
- AUD/month, excluding taxes: Plus A$11.99; Premium A$45.99 (4x Plus); Super A$149.99 (15x); Ultra A$309.99 (50x). Plans include X benefits. source ↗
- Models
- Premium adds 'latest Grok models'; Ultra adds 'most powerful Chat models'. Specific model names not given on the plans page. source ↗
- Where it runs
- Web (grok.com), iOS, Android and Grok on X. source ↗
- What it can do
- Web and X search, reasoning, multi-agent mode, image and video generation, voice, file and PDF analysis, vision, memory, canvas, custom instructions. source ↗
- For work
- Business $30/user/month: no training, seat management, consolidated billing, connectors, audit controls. Enterprise adds custom SSO, SCIM, customer-managed encryption keys. source ↗
- Your chats and training
- Logged-in users choose whether content trains models; logged-out use grants full rights for training. Default setting not stated. source ↗
- Minimum age
- At least 13, or your country's minimum; ages 13 to 17 need parental permission. source ↗
- Where it's available
- Not stated
How we compare
Editorial standards →- The companies' own wordsEach fact comes from the company's product, pricing, help or release-notes pages, checked on 2 Nov 2026. What a company doesn't state, we mark as not stated.
- Same rows for everyoneProducts are in alphabetical order by company, with the same questions answered for each. Nobody pays to be listed.
- Facts, not a verdictThis page says what each product is and does. Whether it helps your work is a question for evidence and for your own pilot.
Products change fast: check the release notes before you decide. Want to learn first? Free courses. Disclosure: AI Adoption uses AI tools in its research and editorial work, including Claude from Anthropic, which makes one of the products compared here. No company has any say in this page.