Skip to Sidebar Skip to Content
Compared · 7 agents · checked 28 Oct 2026

Personal AI agents compared

The new AI agents that keep working for you on their own computer in the cloud: what each one does without asking, what it asks first, who can get it and what it costs. Every fact is from the company's own pages.
Every big AI company now has one. They run around the clock on a computer in the company's cloud, use your apps and accounts, and come back to you before the risky steps: sending, paying, deleting. They differ most on who can get them, where, and what they will do without asking.
5 for individuals2 for organisationsEvery fact from the company's own pagesChecked 28 Oct 2026
Do they save time? Nobody has measured it yet.

No published study yet measures whether these agents save people time or money, or how often they get things wrong. Until one does, our rating for letting an agent act for you is "not enough evidence yet". This page sets out what each company says its agent does, so you can decide what to let it do. Read the guide: should you let an AI agent act for you?

For individuals, side by side

The same questions for every agent. A fact the company does not state says so; we never fill a gap with a guess. Each source link opens the company's own page.
QuestionClaude DuetAnthropicPreviewTasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)GoogleBetaMuseMetaRolling outdotsOpenAIRolling outGrok BotSpaceXSI (xAI)Available
StatusResearch preview, by waitlistsourceBeta; Google calls it experimentalsourceRolling out; Meta's help page says "limited testing"sourceRolling out to Pro and Business Premium; beta for Enterprise, Edu and HealthcaresourceGenerally available for Enterprise and Teams; xAI doesn't say for individual planssource
Launched21 Oct 2026sourceAnnounced 19 May 2026 (Google I/O)source8 Sep 2026source29 Sep 2026 (DevDay)source11 Aug 2026 (beta)source
Who can get itPro and Max subscribers with a US account, invited from the waitlist. Not Team or Enterprise yet.sourceGoogle AI Pro or Ultra subscribers on a personal Google account, with Keep Activity on. Not work or school accounts.sourceAnyone 18+ with a Meta account where it's offered. Free with a weekly limit; paid Power and Max plans.sourceChatGPT Pro and Business Premium; Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare when an admin turns it on. Not Free, Go or Plus.sourceX Subscription Premium, Super and Ultra; paid Cursor plans; SuperGrok or X Premium+; Enterprise and Teams. Not Plus or Free.source
PriceUS list price of the cheapest plan that includes itNo extra cost during the preview; counts against the Pro or Max usage limitssourceIncluded in Google AI Pro, $19.99 a monthsourceFree with a weekly limit; Power $20 a month; Max $100 a monthsourceNo separate price; included in ChatGPT Pro, from $100 a monthsourceNo separate price; included in X Premium, $30 a monthsource
WherecountriesUnited States onlysourceWherever the Gemini app works, except the EEA, Nigeria, Switzerland and the UKsourceUS, Canada, Japan (from 23 Oct) and Singapore (from 27 Oct)sourcePro: everywhere ChatGPT is sold except the EEA, Switzerland and the UKsourceNo country list. Tagging @bot on X isn't offered in Australia, the UK or the EU.source
AgeNot stated18 and oversource18, or older where local law says sosource18 and oversourceNot stated
AI modelClaude Opus 5.5 (no choice)sourceYour choice of Gemini model (launched on Gemini 3.5 Flash)sourceMuse Spark (Meta says Muse Wonder will power it soon)sourceGPT-6 AstrasourceNo fixed model: routed to xAI models or third-party ones (xAI names Opus 5.5)source
Where it runsA virtual machine with its own browser in Anthropic's cloud, so your devices can be offsourceDedicated virtual machines in Google Cloud, with a remote browser; keeps working with your laptop closedsourceIts own isolated virtual machine per user in Meta's cloud ("Muse Secure VM")sourceIts own sandboxed cloud computer with a browser; your own computer only if you connect itsourceOne persistent cloud computer per user, in Cursor's cloud in the US, shared by all your Botssource
Does on its ownReads, drafts and prepares work; sends a morning brief; checks connected apps every few hours; follows up on quiet threads; runs background taskssourceScheduled or triggered tasks, multi-step work across Gmail, Docs, Sheets, Drive and Calendar, browsing with ChromesourcePlans and advances goals after you close the app, books travel, fills forms, negotiates, works on schedules and triggerssourceWorks on goals between conversations, browses, writes files and code, uses connected apps, runs scheduled tasks, does background research (read-only)sourceSigns in to and operates websites, uses connected apps and a terminal, runs routines on a schedule, sends email from its own addresssource
Asks you firstBefore sending a message, paying, signing a document or deleting anything, showing the action, content and every recipientsourceAlways before sending, changing or deleting data, buying, payments, submitting forms and signing in with Google, even if set to "always allow"sourceSending email and other outside actions by default; every purchase. Choices: once, for this task, for this site, always, denysourceEach time before permanent deletion, unfamiliar software or new security-sensitive access; purchases need approval, which can be given in advancesourceWhen its automatic reviewer flags an action: Allow once, Always allow or Deny. Most actions run without asking.source
Won't do, even with approvalTrading securities, moving money between accounts, accessing someone else's accountsourceNot statedNot statedChanging a password or moving money between accounts: handed back to yousourceNot stated
Payments and spendingOnly through Link or Shop Pay, each purchase approved, with a one-time card for that merchant and amount. No overall cap stated.sourcePayments are handed back to you; no budget or spending cap describedsourceEvery purchase approved; Link by Stripe gives a single-use card for one merchant and amount. No overall cap stated.sourceBuys with cards already saved on a merchant's site, with your approval. No spending cap stated.sourcePays with Link, X Money or Shop Pay; a monthly cap on extra usage can be set (it doesn't stop a task already running)source
Trains on your data?Not stated for Duet. Anthropic's general consumer setting lets you allow or refuse training.sourceYes. Tasks need Keep Activity on, and with it on Google trains on your activity, with human reviewsourceYes by default, with key personal details removed; turn off in Settings > Data controlssourcePro: yes unless you turn off "Improve the model for everyone". Business, Enterprise, Edu: no, by defaultsourceNot with Privacy Mode on; xAI doesn't say what happens with it offsource
How to stop itNo pause switch described. Steer or decline tasks, disconnect apps, reset memory, delete history.sourceStop button, take over the browser, pause schedules, or turn off task mode (deletes its remote data)sourceTake over the browser (pauses it), stop a task, disconnect apps, or reset Muse (deletes everything)sourcePause, ask it to stop, revoke computer access, disconnect apps, or Reset (deletes the dot)sourceSay "Stop now", deny an approval, pause or delete routines, disconnect appssource
What it keepsHistory and memory until you delete them or reset memory; disconnecting an app doesn't erase what it learnedsourceActivity auto-deletes after 18 months by default; reviewed chats kept up to 3 yearssourceFiles and memory you can view, edit, download or delete; no retention period statedsourceKeeps its context until you Reset the dot; single memories can't be viewed or deleted yetsourceFiles and logins stay on its computer; deleting the account removes everything within 30 dayssource

For organisations

Two agents are built for organisations rather than individuals. Both are still in early or private preview, run under the company's own controls, and are set up by IT rather than by each person.
QuestionGemini agentGoogle CloudEarly accessCopilot AutopilotMicrosoftPreview
StatusEarly accesssourcePrivate previewsource
LaunchedAnnounced 8 Oct 2026sourceAnnounced 2 Jun 2026 as Microsoft Scout; renamed 25 Sep 2026source
Who can get itBusinesses on Gemini for business (Gemini Enterprise), selected customers firstsourceOrganisations only, on Microsoft 365 business Copilot planssource
PriceUS list price of the cheapest plan that includes itAgent price not stated; seats from $21 a user a monthsourceBilled by usage, in Copilot Creditssource
WherecountriesNot statedNo country list; not in US government or sovereign cloudssource
AgeNot statedNot stated
AI modelRouted between Gemini models; Claude as an option admins can turn onsourceNot stated
Where it runsGoogle Cloud, each agent in its own sandboxsourceIn the organisation's Microsoft 365 tenant, with its own identity, memory and computersource
Does on its ownTakes objectives and returns finished work; scheduled or triggered jobs that run for hours or days; temporary sub-agentssourceWatches channels, follows up on threads, runs recurring work, schedules meetings, flags stalled decisionssource
Asks you firstSet by the organisation rather than per action: company policies enforced on every agentsourceSensitive actions can require sign-off; anything others can see (send, share, reply, update) needs confirmationsource
Won't do, even with approvalNot statedNot stated
Payments and spendingA hard spending cap per project; the agent pauses when it's reachedsourceNo buying or payments described; the organisation controls AI spendingsource
Trains on your data?No: business data is never used to train Google's modelssourceNo, for the desktop app; not stated for the cloud versionsource
How to stop itOnly the spending-cap pause is describedsourcePause, resume or cancel (desktop app); admins can block itsource
What it keepsNot statedSession and memory data in the user's OneDrive, under the company's settings (desktop app)source

Each agent in brief

Anthropic

Claude Duet

Preview

A separate app in which Claude works as a proactive agent: a morning brief, check-ins on your connected apps every few hours, and background tasks, asking before it sends, pays, signs or deletes.

  • Research preview by waitlist, US Pro and Max subscribers only.
  • Uses the plan's usage limits, background checks included.
Google

Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)

Beta

Announced as Gemini Spark at Google I/O and now called Task, a mode in the Gemini app: it runs scheduled and multi-step tasks across Gmail, Docs, Calendar and other apps on a remote computer and browser.

  • Google still calls task handling experimental and gives no general-availability date.
  • It only works with Keep Activity on, and with that on Google trains its models on your activity.
Meta

Muse

Rolling out

Meta's personal AI agent, in its own app, on the web and in WhatsApp: it turns a goal into a plan, keeps working after you close the app, and books, shops and emails, with a separate "Sentinel" check on every outside action.

  • Meta says more than 10 million people in the US and Canada have set it up (21 Oct 2026).
  • Your conversations train Meta's models by default; you can turn it off in Settings > Data controls.
OpenAI

dots

Rolling out

Persistent agents in ChatGPT (OpenAI writes the name in lower case): each dot works toward your goals on its own cloud computer, around the clock, through more than 4,000 connected apps.

  • One dot per person at launch; OpenAI says more will come.
  • Rules let you choose, per kind of action: act, act if pre-approved, ask first, or hand it back to you.
SpaceXSI (xAI)

Grok Bot

Available

An AI teammate that signs in to your apps and websites on its own cloud computer, runs routines on a schedule, and hands back finished work. Built with Cursor, now part of SpaceX Super Intelligence (formerly xAI).

  • xAI's own pages disagree on purchases: one says you approve every purchase, another that a saved card fills in without asking each time.
  • There is no fixed model: each task is routed to an xAI model or a third-party one.
Google Cloud

Gemini agent

Early access

A single agent for work in Gemini for business (Gemini Enterprise): it takes objectives, works for hours or days across Workspace, Microsoft 365, Slack and 100+ tools, under the company's rules and spending caps.

  • Announced 8 Oct 2026; Google said on 16 Oct that its capabilities are not publicly available yet.
Microsoft

Copilot Autopilot

Preview

An always-on agent with its own identity inside an organisation's Microsoft 365: given a role and a goal, it follows up threads, runs recurring work and coordinates meetings. Announced in June as Microsoft Scout.

  • Microsoft documents a cloud version and a desktop app (Scout); most controls are documented only for the desktop app.

Before you let an agent act for you

Not advice about any one product: the questions every one of these agents raises. Each comes from what the companies themselves say their agents can and can't do.
  1. Start with read-only workLet it research, read and draft before you let it send, buy or delete. Every agent here can be told to ask first.
  2. Connect only what the task needsEach app you connect is something it can act in. Disconnecting stops new access, but what it already learned may stay until you reset its memory.
  3. Read the approval cardWhen it asks, check the recipient, the amount and the exact text. An approval you give "always" applies next time too.
  4. Keep money behind your own handUse the one-time or merchant-limited cards where offered, set a usage cap, and never give it banking logins.
  5. Check what it keeps and what trains the modelSome agents use your activity to train their models unless you opt out; one can't be used with that setting off.
  6. At work, ask before you connect work accountsA personal agent with access to work email or files is a tool your employer has not approved. Ask IT, or use a workplace version.

What changed since launch

58 dated changes from the companies' own pages, newest first. Pick an agent to see its own timeline; each dot in the chart at the top opens its change here.

October 2026 · 26 changes

  1. MusePlans and reach Launched in Singapore. source
  2. Gemini agentNew ability Private network connections for company tools (MCP servers). source
  3. Grok BotRules and safety Permissions settings; automatic review asks less often. source
  4. Grok BotRules and safety Bots can propose changes to their own review rules, on a card you confirm. source
  5. Claude DuetRules and safety Safety, privacy and security article published: approval flow, sensitive-information checks, isolated cloud browser. source
  6. MusePlans and reach Launched in Japan, its first market outside North America. source
  7. Grok BotNew ability Vault for logins, cards and contact details. source
  8. dotsRules and safety Help centre adds "aged 18 and older" to the plan requirements. source
  9. dotsProblem Service incident: degraded performance of dots for Enterprise customers (resolved). source
  10. Grok BotRules and safety Deleting a Bot now erases its conversations, memory and routines; admins can delete members' data. source
  11. Gemini agentRules and safety Admins can set usage limits per person. source
  12. Claude DuetLaunch Research preview opened by waitlist for US Pro and Max subscribers. source
  13. MusePlans and reach Meta says more than 10 million people in the US and Canada have set up Muse. source
  14. Gemini agentPlans and reach Government version in preview. source
  15. Gemini agentNew ability Claude Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5.5 available in the Gemini Enterprise app, if an admin turns them on. source
  16. Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)New ability A chat-to-tasks toggle in the Gemini app; Google's help pages now call Spark "Task". source
  17. dotsPlans and reach Dots can be set up in the ChatGPT phone apps, not only on desktop (approximate date). source
  18. MuseNew ability Muse Wonder models announced, to power Muse "soon", subscribers first. source
  19. Grok BotPlans and reach Included in the new X Subscription: Premium $30, Super $100, Ultra $200 a month. source
  20. Grok BotNew ability Bots get their own email address; payments with X Money or Link. source
  21. Gemini agentPlans and reach Early access with selected small-business customers, "available to all customers soon". source
  22. Gemini agentLaunch Announced at Gemini at Work 2026, in early access; financial services and legal versions in preview. source
  23. Copilot AutopilotNew ability Dynamics 365 sales and service skills in public preview. source
  24. dotsProblem Two service incidents: failed and delayed dot turns, reduced proactivity (resolved). source
  25. Grok BotPlans and reach Tag @bot on X to give it work (not in Australia, the UK or the EU). source
  26. dotsProblem Service incident: elevated errors across ChatGPT, including dots (resolved the same day). source

September 2026 · 16 changes

  1. MuseRules and safety Launch post reworded on what Muse can see of passwords typed in its browser. source
  2. dotsPlans and reach Help centre rewords pricing: the first dot is included at no extra cost, with extended limits for a month. source
  3. MusePlans and reach Muse for Small Business, with business connectors; Meta lists the US and Canada. source
  4. dotsLaunch Launched at DevDay 2026 on GPT-6 Astra, for Pro and Business Premium; beta for Enterprise. source
  5. MusePlans and reach Meta Enterprise Platform announced, to bring Muse to businesses. source
  6. Grok BotNew ability Team Bots, shared in Slack, in public beta. source
  7. Copilot AutopilotLaunch Renamed Autopilot in the new Copilot: a cloud agent in the organisation's tenant, billed by usage. source
  8. MuseNew ability Connect 2026: voice mode, new shopping connectors, its own email address and glasses announced as coming; a Mac app with computer use is out. source
  9. Grok BotNew ability Grok 4.7 released, trained to work inside Grok Bot. source
  10. MuseRules and safety Muse privacy policy takes effect. source
  11. Grok BotNew ability Routines can be paused; GitHub connection. source
  12. MusePlans and reach Prices listed: free with a weekly limit, Power $20 and Max $100 a month (earliest archived copy). source
  13. Grok BotNew ability Can route its web traffic through your own computer. source
  14. MuseLaunch Launched in the US on iOS, Android, the web and WhatsApp, on Muse Spark. source
  15. Grok BotRules and safety Email and Slack drafts for review; admins can enforce automatic review of actions. source
  16. Grok BotPlans and reach Grok Bot for Enterprise opened to every Enterprise team. source

August 2026 · 7 changes

  1. Grok BotNew ability Works with X: an X connector and free X API credits for paid users. source
  2. Grok BotNew ability Purchases through Link, each with an Allow or Deny card; shareable Bot templates. source
  3. Grok BotPlans and reach Included with all SuperGrok, Cursor Pro and Cursor Teams plans. source
  4. Grok BotPlans and reach Usage limits you can set, and access for Pro and SuperGrok plans. source
  5. Copilot AutopilotNew ability Desktop release: meeting transcripts, room booking, Outlook rules, file sharing (August; no day given). source
  6. Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)New ability Moves to Gemini 3.7 Flash. source
  7. Grok BotLaunch Launched in beta on desktop and iPhone for SuperGrok and Cursor subscribers; Enterprise waitlist. source

July 2026 · 5 changes

  1. Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)Plans and reach Expanding to AI Pro subscribers in Canada and Latin America. source
  2. Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)New ability Works with Chrome auto browse, using your logged-in accounts with permission. source
  3. Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)Plans and reach AI Pro subscribers in 160+ more countries. source
  4. Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)Plans and reach Rolling out to Google AI Pro subscribers in Australia. source
  5. Copilot AutopilotNew ability Desktop release: model choice, Teams channel posting, session history in OneDrive (July; Microsoft gives no day). source

June 2026 · 2 changes

  1. Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)Plans and reach Available in the Gemini app for Mac, with local files. source
  2. Copilot AutopilotLaunch Announced as Microsoft Scout, in private preview for selected organisations. source

May 2026 · 2 changes

  1. Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)Launch Announced at Google I/O as Gemini Spark: trusted testers first, then a beta for US AI Ultra subscribers. source
  2. Tasks in Gemini (formerly Spark)Plans and reach Google AI Ultra gets a new $100 tier and its top tier falls from $250 to $200; Spark is listed as an Ultra benefit. source

How this page works

  1. The company's own word, checked. Every fact comes from the company's own announcement, product page, help centre or documentation, never from news reports. Where they disagree with each other, we say so.
  2. No ranking. We do not pick a best agent. Which one fits depends on what you use, where you live and what you will let it do.
  3. Gaps stay visible. "Not stated" means the company does not say. It is a question worth asking before you sign up.
  4. Rechecked as they change. These products change weekly. The date at the top is the last full check; changes go in the log above.
Disclosure: AI Adoption uses AI tools in its research and editorial work, including Claude from Anthropic, one of the companies compared here. No company has any say in this page, and the same rules apply to every agent. Editorial standards · Adopt · AI Companies
Copied with its source. Want the next number like this in your inbox?Get Friday's numbers